2021 IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award

On May 17, 2021, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Communications Society announced the 2021 IEEE Communications Society Paper Award. Anass Benjebbour of the 5G & IoT Business Department received the IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award for "5G: A Tutorial Overview of Standards, Trials, Challenges, Deployment, and Practice." This is the first of these awards for NTT DOCOMO.

The IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award is given to the best tutorial paper published in an IEEE journal in the past five years.

This award-winning paper was co-authored* in 2017, when the standardization of the 5th Generation mobile communication system (5G) was nearing completion, and is a comprehensive and easy-to-understand summary of the efforts made to date by industry experts from around the world. Anass Benjebbour from NTT DOCOMO has led standardization organizations such as 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP)/International Telecommunication Union-Radio communication sector (ITU-R), and has summarized descriptions of the requirements for 5G, the elemental technologies to achieve

those requirements, and the content and results of the demonstration experiments that NTT DOCOMO has conducted with various vendors around the world.

The paper has also been cited more than 1,000 times in just four years since it was published in the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, Vol. 35, No. 6, in June 2017. The paper has been praised for its high citation rate and its contribution to the development of the mobile communication field and the understanding of the global technical community about 5G, which led to this award.

We will continue to contribute to mobile technology and the development of industry as a global standardization leader that promotes collaboration with various industry players in various fields.

* Co-authors: Mansoor Shafi, Andreas F. Molisch, Peter J. Smith, Thomas Haustein, Peiying Zhu, Prasan De Silva, Fredrik Tufvesson, Anass Benjebbour, Gerhard Wunder

All company names or names of products, software, and services appearing in this journal are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.

